Meeting Minutes July 3, 2017

The Mayor and Board of Commissioners met in a regular monthly meeting on Monday, July 3, 2017 at noon at City Hall.

Mayor Lowe called the meeting to order with Commissioners present being: Lamar Hughes, Sam Moser, Edward Lee, Billy G. West, and Bill W. Stockton. City Attorney John Cleveland was present. Mayor Lowe opened the meeting with an invocation, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance, led by Chief Eddie Byrum.

An election was held on June 8, 2017 for the City of Sweetwater Mayor, two Commissioners, and two school board members. City Recorder Jessica Morgan administered the following Oath of Office to Mayor Doyle Lowe: "I do solemnly swear to support the Constitution of the United States and the State of Tennessee, and the charter and ordinances of the City of Sweetwater. And that I will faithfully discharge the duties of the Office, to which I have been elected, which I am about to assume."

Mayor Lowe then administered the Oath of Office to Commissioners Bill W. Stockton and Lamar Hughes. Mayor Lowe administered the Oath of Office to Board of Education Commissioners Jon Campbell and Christy McCosh.

Commissioner Stockton moved to approve the minutes from the meetings of June 5, 2017 and the workshop and called meeting of June 26, 2017, with Commissioner Hughes seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to appoint Jessica Morgan as City Recorder for a term expiring June 30, 2019, with Commissioner Stockton seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Stockton moved to appoint Peter Alliman as City Judge, with Commissioner Hughes seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to appoint John Cleveland as city attorney, with Commissioner Lee seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Stockton moved to appoint Katie Hatfield as Administrative Law Judge, with Commissioner Moser seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Lee moved to appoint Billy G. West as Vice-Mayor, with Commissioner Stockton seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to appoint Bill W. Stockton as Police Commissioner, with Commissioner Hughes seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to appoint Edward Lee as Fire Commissioner, with Commissioner Stockton seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Stockton moved to appoint Billy G. West as Street Commissioner, with Commissioner Hughes seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Stockton moved to appoint Lamar Hughes as Parks & Recreation Commissioner, with Commissioner Lee seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Hughes moved to appoint Sam Moser as Planning, Development, & Tourism Commissioner, with Commissioner Lee seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Eddie Byrum as Police Chief; Doug Watson as Fire Chief; Richard Jenkins as Street Superintendent; and Tim Crawford as Parks & Recreation Director, with Commissioner West seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to appoint Scott Wilson as City Planner, with Commissioner Stockton seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Mayor Lowe administered the following Oath of Office to the appointees: "I do solemnly swear to support the Constitution of the United States and the State of Tennessee, and the charter and ordinances of the City of Sweetwater. And that I will faithfully discharge the duties of the Office, to which I have been appointed, which I am about to assume."

Commissioner West moved to appoint the following commissioners to boards:
Bill W. Stockton to Sweetwater Utilities Board; Bill W. Stockton to the Board of Education; Sam Moser to the Planning Commission; Edward Lee to the Library Board; Sam Moser as Personnel Commissioner; and Billy G. West to the Museum Board. The Motion was seconded by Edward Lee. All voted in favor, with

Commissioner Lee moved to appoint Carrie Bright, Dr. Chris Bowman, and Aliceson Bowman to the Library Board with terms expiring 7/1/18. Commissioner Stockton seconded the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Stockton moved to appoint Phil Hall to Sweetwater Utilities Board with a term expiring 6/30/21, with Commissioner West seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Jennifer Waller and Fred Camp to the Sweetwater Tree Board with terms expiring 7/1/21, and Randy Anderson with a term expiring 7/1/22, with Commissioner Lee seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Hughes moved to appoint Shelby Billingsley, Richard Barr, and Kevin Watson to the Sweetwater Recreation & Parks Commission with terms expiring 6/30/19, with Commissioner West seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Lee moved to appoint Harris Lovingood and Shelby Billingsley with terms expiring 6/30/21 and Jean Curtiss with a term expiring 7/1/18 to the Historic Zoning Commission, with Commissioner Stockton seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Christ Seiler to the Building Codes Board of Review with a term expiring 6/30/20, with Commissioner Lee seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to appoint Johnny Sutton and Susan Turpin o the Sweetwater Heritage Museum board with terms expiring 7/1/20, with Commissioner Stockton seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to approve the Mayor's appointment of Lewis McCowan to the Planning Commission with a term expiring 6/30/24, with Commissioner Hughes seconding the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Hughes moved to approve the following institutions as the depositaries for the City of Sweetwater: Athens Federal, State of TN Local Government Investment Pool, Simmons Bank, People's Bank of Monroe County, and Regions Bank. Commissioner West seconded the motion. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

In Old Business, Mayor Lowe reminded the board the I-75 Commerce Park project would include a land donation from Exit 60, LLC once the paperwork was ready.

Mayor Lowe reminded the board about the annual Independence Day Celebration on July 4, 2017.

No further action was taken. The meeting was adjourned at 12:20 p.m. This the 3rd day of July, 2017.