## **Meeting Minutes**

July 6, 2020

The Mayor and Board of Commissioners of the City of Sweetwater met in their regular monthly meeting on Monday, July 6, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. at City Hall. Mayor Lowe called the meeting to order with Commissioners present being: Lamar Hughes, Sam Moser, Billy G. West, and Bill W. Stockton. Commissioner Alan Richeson was on vacation. A quorum was present. Mayor Lowe led an invocation, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance, led by local media representative Tulli Cole.

Commissioner Stockton moved to approve the minutes from the meetings of June 1, 2020 and June 22, 2020. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Distributions for the month of June were tabled to the July 27 called meeting.

In New Business, Mayor Lowe advised he had appointed Ricardo Torres to the Economic and Community Development Board for a term expiring July 1, 2024 and reappointed Angie Watson to the Planning Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2027. In Board appointments, Commissioner Hughes moved to approve the following appointments:

Terry Knight to SUB for a term ending 6/30/20204

Carrie Bright, Dr. Chris Bowman, and Aliceson Bowman to Sweetwater Library Board for a term ending 7/1/2023 and Pam Haislip to Sweetwater Library Board for a term ending 7/1/2021

Lucinda Wayman, Kim Harvey, and Jason Upton to Recreation and Parks Commissioner for a term ending 6/30/2022

Scott Bowman to the Health, Educational, and Housing Facility Board for a term ending 7/1/2026.

Walt Bowman, John Seiler, and Hoyt Byrum to the Industrial Development Board for a term ending July 1, 2026

Mary Chappell Crabtree and Pidge Collette to Sweetwater Tree Board for a term ending July 1, 2024

Peggy Bebb and Elaine Archer to Historic Zoning Commission for a term ending 6/30/2024

Johnny Sutton and Susan Turpin to Heritage Museum Board for a term ending 7/1/2023

Chris Seiler to the Building Codes Board of Review for a term ending 6/30/2023

The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Stockton moved to approve Ordinance No. 982 entitled An Ordinance to amend Title 9, Business, Peddlers, Solicitors, Etc. Chapter 2 to comply with the State changes pertaining to Roadblocks on first reading. The motion was seconded. Upon Roll Call Voting the Ayes were as follows: Commissioners Hughes, Moser, West, and Stockton. Nays being none. The motion was carried.

The meeting was adjourned and reconvened as Sweetwater Beer Board. The first application was for Jerardo and Manuel Hernandez DBA Randho La Reserva to be located at the special event rodeo at 125 County Rd. 308, Sweetwater TN. Chief Byrum advised the background check was clear. Mayor Lowe advised Planning Commission had agreed to allow the use of land for a rodeo for a limited number of special events during the remainder of the year. Commissioner Stockton moved to approve the permit, and the motion was seconded. Voting Aye were Commissioners Moser, West, and Stockton. Voting Nay was Commissioner Hughes, who opposed the lack of a permanent building at the site. The motion was carried.

The second beer permit for Ricardo Oliveira DBA Ricky's Sports Bar & Grill was tabled so that further information could be obtained on the manager to run the necessary background checks.

No further action was taken.

Mayor Lowe invited Chief John Anderson and retiring firefighters James Bledsoe and Mike Bagwell forward. He presented a check from the city and a special firefighter box made for each firefighter. He thanked them for their service and invited those in attendance to stay for refreshments.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:20	p.m.
This the 6 <sup>th</sup> day of July, 2020.	
Mayor	
, and the second	
At	test:
	Recorder