ATTEST:		
	Recorder	

Meeting Minutes July 1, 2021

The Mayor and Board of Commissioners of the City of Sweetwater met in a called meeting to hold the swearing-in ceremony as required by the city charter. Mayor-Elect Doyle F. Lowe called the meeting to order with Commissioners-Elect present being Lamar Hughes and Bill W. Stockton. Commissioners present being Sam Moser and Billy G. West. Commissioner Alan Richeson arrived later in the meeting. City Attorney John Cleveland was present.

Mayor-Elect Doyle Lowe called the meeting to order with an invocation leading the Lord's Prayer, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance, led by Chief Eddie Byrum.

City Recorder Jessica Morgan administered the following Oath of Office to Mayor-Elect Doyle Lowe:

I do solemnly swear
that I will support the Constitution
of the United States and of the State of Tennessee
and the Charter and ordinances
of the City of Sweetwater,
and that I will faithfully discharge
the duties of the office
to which I have been elected,
and which I am about to assume.

Mayor Doyle Lowe administered the Oath of Office to the newly elected member of the Board of Education, Christy McCosh.

Commissioner West moved to appoint Jessica Morgan as City Recorder. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Hughes moved to appoint Peter Alliman as City Judge. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint John Cleveland as City Attorney. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Reed Dixon as Administrative Law Judge. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Mayor Lowe administered the following Oath of Office to the appointed officials:

I do solemnly swear that I will support the Constitution

- 17 - 00486528

of the United States and of the State of Tennessee and the Charter and ordinances of the City of Sweetwater,

> and that I will faithfully discharge the duties of the office to which I have been appointed, and which I am about to assume.

Commissioner Stockton moved to appoint Billy G. West as Vice-Mayor. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to appoint Bill Stockton as Commissioner to the Police Department. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Alan Richeson as Commissioner to the Fire Department. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Hughes moved to appoint Billy G. West as Commissioner to the Street Department. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Lamar Hughes as Commissioners for the Parks and Recreation Department. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to appoint Sam Moser as Commissioner to Planning, Development, and Tourism. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Stockton moved to appoint Eddie Byrum as Police Chief. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to appoint Richard Jenkins as Street Superintendent. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint John Anderson as Fire Chief. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Chuck Whited as Director of Planning, Development, and Tourism. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

The board then appointed Commissioners to Boards. Commissioner Hughes moved to appoint Commissioner Stockton to Sweetwater Utility Board. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

- 18 - 00486528

Commissioner Stockton moved to appoint Lamar Hughes to serve on the Board of Education. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Hughes moved to appoint Sam Moser to serve on Planning Commission. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to appoint Alan Richeson to serve on Sweetwater Library Board. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Hughes moved to appoint Sam Moser as Personnel Commissioner. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Billy G. West to serve on the Sweetwater Heritage Museum Board. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

The board then made appointments of citizens to boards. Commissioner Huhges moved to approve the library board's recommendation to reappoint Stuart Sadikoff and Pam Haislip to the Sweetwater Public Library Board. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Stockton moved to approve the recommendation from Sweetwater Utility Board to reappoint Phil Hall to the Sweetwater Utilities Board. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Jennifer Waller and Fred Camp to Sweetwater Tree Board. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Hughes moved to appoint Richard Barr, Kevin Watson, and Shelby Billingsley to the Parks and Recreation Commission. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Harris Lovingood and Maria Cox to the Historic Zoning Commission. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Hughes moved to appoint Randy McCool to the Building Codes Board of Review. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner West moved to appoint Virgil Wyrick and Joyce Newman to the Sweetwater Heritage Museum Board with a term expiring 7/1/2024 and fill the vacancy left by MaryAnn Upton with Jeff Brewster for a term expiring 7/1/2022. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Mayor Lowe notified the board that he had reappointed Nancy Baker to the Planning Commission.

- 19 - 00486528

The Recorder made a recommendation to add Kathy Barr as a signatory to all city accounts. She also recommended the following institutions be approved for holding city funds: Capstar Bank, People's Bank of East Tennessee, Simmons Bank, Volunteer Federal, and the State of TN Local Investment Pool. Commissioner West moved to approve the signatories and institutions for deposits. A second was given. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

No further action was taken.		
The meeting was adjourned at 12:25 p.m.		
This the 7 <sup>th</sup> day of July, 2021.		
Mayor		
	ATTEST:	
		Recorder

- 20 - 00486528